Mitchell to Redruth

Day 56 Tuesday 11th June.

We went back to Mitchell for the start of what promised to be a wet and stormy day!

I was so lucky at the start of my walk in Scotland that the weather was good but I have to admit that by now I was expecting to be walking every day in shorts and sandals.

You would think I would know better than that, having spent almost 40 years in Cornwall.

So it had to be the rain poncho again. I have found it easier to use a poncho which covers me and my bag and can be taken off easily and rolled up when the sun comes out.

Today was slower than usual because of the wind and rain and obviously I was unable to take photos for much of the time.

I had a few setbacks too, quite early on I missed a turning so ended up walking further than I needed.

Then later I intended to walk a section of a ‘B’ road but it was so busy and the traffic so fast that it felt unsafe, so I took the first turning off of it and rerouted which added distance to the walk but was pleasanter and much safer.

I passed this interesting piece of architecture in the middle of nowhere!

I walked along one country lane that had the tallest foxgloves I have ever seen along one side. They were past their best but many were taller than me! They would have been truly stunning a few weeks ago.

On the way from Chacewater towards Scorrier I spotted these shoes and socks on the side of the road???

You never know what you will see when you are walking.

I was happy to finish my walking day on the outskirts of Redruth about 30 miles from Lands End and start a mini holiday.

Guess what….. it is Tuesday ……… and what is Tuesday? Steak night at Wetherspoons!

My choice is always the same 12oz rump, medium rare, with jacket potato and salad.

The John Francis Basset at Camborne produced the best steak of the walk…….so far …..

but there is another Tuesday before I finish!

http://www.justgiving.com/JunesJOGLE?utm_id=25

Leave a comment